PDA

View Full Version : Workshop Vacuum

brendan stemp
9th May 2016, 03:53 PM
I would like some opinions on workshop vacuums that you have used. I need to buy a new one and there are a lot out there. It is NOT for collecting dust and shavings off the lathe but more for general vacuuming around the workshop. I definitely dont want anything with disposable bags. I hate having to spend money on such items (but it can't be avoided) so I would like to get as much as I can for as little as possible.

China
9th May 2016, 04:28 PM
I use one of these not cheap but I have been using it for about 5 years with no problems it has the added advantage of being able to
connect power tools to it.

https://sydneytools.com.au/hitachi-wde1200-wet-dry-dust-extractor-vacuum?fee=4&fep=726&gclid=CM7Rvc2gzMwCFQokvQodmWUOZw

aldav
9th May 2016, 04:42 PM
If you don't want to spend too much money just buy a cheapie and put a small cyclone in front of it. You can mount the cyclone on a ring lock 15 or 20 litre tin (ex paint can) and as very little material will be getting through to your vac you only need something of 15 or 20 litre capacity. The Ryobi ones from Bunnings or Shop Vac from Masters are fine, heaps of others around too, have a look on EBay.

Cheers,
David

gidgee 1
9th May 2016, 07:17 PM
What aldav said.

I recently purchased one of his small cyclones already had an Ozito wet and dry vac(Bunnings,about$65),hooked it up last weekend,very pleased with the result.:2tsup:
Cheers
gidgee 1

rtyuiop
9th May 2016, 07:19 PM
I have this shop vac from masters:

https://www.masters.com.au/product/100304829/shop-vac-1800w-60l-wet-dry-vacuum-silver

I like it quite a lot, but it's not worth the price they want for it (I paid $159 !), and the specials that masters used to do seem to have dried up since woolies announced they wanted out of the hardware business.

Lappa
9th May 2016, 08:24 PM