PDA

View Full Version : Gifted Lathe - Worth Keeping?

Redback
26th May 2016, 01:12 PM
Hi All,

Have recently been given an old lathe.
I have been doing some self education and I am not sure whether this lathe is worth keeping.

It is only 1/2 hp but the main issue is that it only came with a faceplate and a drill sized chuck.
Also the spindle bolt is fairly small (about 18mm) and cannot take any of the accessories i see at carbatec/timbecon etc (ie chucks, spur drive centres etc). ie it is just a solid thread.
See pictures attached.
I have looked online and cannot seem to find parts that would go on this.

Does anyone have a similiar setup and any advice

I am a complete novice as far as lathes are concerned.

chucky
26th May 2016, 02:27 PM
Hi Reback. keep consuming your fine BEERS as just one glass of this fantastic drink, is worth more in value than this type of so called lathe. Yes I was given one 15 or so years ago now its used as a land fill some where it belongs or may be, crushed for scrap metal.

malb
26th May 2016, 02:42 PM
The unit is a fairly cheap generic lathe that lacks rigidity. As a lathe they are not great, but they are better than nothing. A few people on the forums have opted to discard the bed assembly, mount the faceplate and set it up as a disc sander. Others have tried to offer them free on the forum with few takers.
Unfortunately a classic case of cheap Chinese product that vaguely looks the part, intended to part the unwary and their cash.

Redback
26th May 2016, 02:49 PM
Ah, yes i wasn't impressed with the rigidity or general quality. Turning it into a disc sander however has a quite a lot of merit, thanks for that idea!.

Ok, well i am really keen now to do some turning, because it got my interest up.
Just have to research now what is a good mid price lathe....

thanks for the feeback guys.

chucky
26th May 2016, 03:56 PM