PDA

View Full Version : Triton Newbie

Angelo
24th January 2000, 05:26 PM
Hello everyone,

I have been looking at the 2000 workcentre. I am a newbie to woodwork and have been progressing my skills over the last six months and would like to get hold of some better tools to make life a bit easier and efficient. How practical are these units to use? I am curious about the accuracy of the work that can be produced and if they are comparable to dedicated table saws if used carefully? Everybody happy with the router/jigsaw table?
I saw the 2000 at Hardware House for $514. Is this a good price?

Any help with making a decision would be most appreciated.

Regards,
Angelo

Mark Woodward
24th January 2000, 06:35 PM
Hi Angelo,
It's not up there with a dedicated table saw but will do everything I need it to. (A Newbie the same as you). The router top fits ON the 2000 so you don't really need the table. Sure it would be handy, but maybe you could get one later when it's on special. Speaking of prices, my 2K cost $479 from mitre 10. They routinely have it on special for some reason so if you want to hang off for a while you'll get it cheaper than you've been quoted.
Mark

AlexS
25th January 2000, 10:21 AM
I've used a Mk3 and router top for a few years and am really happy with them both. The accuracy is impressive - square IS square.

Look around for them to be on special.

Alex

Richard
29th January 2000, 09:39 PM
Triton workcenter 2000 as new in box $330ono!!! But ya better be quick !! Phone 02 4324-8228

barrysumpter
30th January 2000, 08:33 AM
Angelo,
When purchasing a Triton WorkCentre 2000 - be sure to take advantage of the Pricing Wars between HardwareHouse and Bunnings. One store will match the other stores lower prices and subtract another 10%. I saved about $50 on the Triton saw and another $30 on the sliding extention table.