PDA

View Full Version : Super Glue

Grumpy John
24th August 2005, 08:57 PM
Hi everyone,
I'm new to woodturning and was told that super glue can be used to repair cracks in timber. Are there any limitations as to size of cracks (okay, okay I'm bound to get some smart a#$se comments) that can be repaired this way? Also do you have to treat the timber with any cleanser like acetone etc.?

GJ

Skew ChiDAMN!!
24th August 2005, 09:15 PM
I'm new to woodturning and was told that super glue can be used to repair cracks in timber. Are there any limitations as to size of cracks (okay, okay I'm bound to get some smart a#$se comments) that can be repaired this way? Also do you have to treat the timber with any cleanser like acetone etc.?

Hi John, welcome to the BB.

Cracks, yes. If by "cracks" you mean hairline fractures that can be pushed together again without gaps. Any length can be repaired this way, providing care is taken turning the result.

Personally, if the wood's cracked before turning I either won't use it or plan to turn the cracks out. I do use it when the piece cracks while turning, keeping in mind that it tends to darken/discolour the wood along the crack. I don't treat the timber.

If by cracks you mean crevices with a gap then generally the answer is no. Sorry.

DavidG
24th August 2005, 09:16 PM
Thin superglue can fix hairline to small cracks.
Beyond that you need to fill the crack with sawdust then add the glue.

I have successfully filled 1cm grub holes using coarse saw dust and super glue to make it look like the original grub processed wood.

The cheap shop pack of 6 tubes of 3gm (not 2gm) do work well on reasonable cracks but for really fine cracks in good wood get the thin superglue from Car....tec or such other place. It gets in to the fine crack better.

Cliff Rogers
24th August 2005, 09:44 PM
Yeah, mixed results... I find that it is good mixed with sawdust as a filler holes but sometimes it doesn't hide the crack.

Wood Butcher