PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Turner with the big questions.

XLaw87
8th August 2016, 02:27 PM
Hi All,

Xavier here from Brunswick in Melbourne, I'm an ex chippy and a professional-amateur woodworker, in fact I'm a professional-amateur at just about everything! I've read a lot of thee threads but have finally signed up to join in the fun and hopefully soak up some knowledge from a few of the gaffers.

After having just finished my own house build I've recovered enough to start getting my workshop sorted and accruing a few tools, Ive had a renewed love of hand tools, planes, chisels saws, you name it and I also recently bought a lathe.

I was able to snap up an Avon-Tyme with 11 tools mainly sorby - Roughing gouge, 3 spindle gouges, 2 skew chisels, 3 scrapers, 1 parting tool and one incredibly long, quite thin, maybe 9-10mm D, spindle gouge esque tool, that has the tip of what looks like a drill bit cut off perpendicular to the tools length. I will add a photo of this later as im not sure what it is, perhaps a drilling/coring tool? ( I just found on the spares catalogue page a long hollow tailstock long hole boring kit picture, Im guessing this is what it is.) Plus an industrial vacuum all for $600.

Ive always wanted to try my hand at turning, especially bowls, deep pots, etc and cant wait to get started. So a few of my questions if anyone feels like helping a rookie out:

1. I found a Tyme Avon on ebay and was just wondering if anyone is currently using one and has any tips or a manual? I have found a few things online, a brochure and parts catalogue but no manual, though it doesnt look to hard to put the pieces together.

2. If so are there any hints on maintenance etc, the bearings seem to be okay, no obvious bad noises etc but do i need to clean out and grease anything, oil anything before i start serious usage?