PDA

View Full Version : Teknatool TL1000 - Are they good?

Braxtonatoraxto
13th August 2016, 12:59 PM
I am looking at a 2nd hand Teknatool TL 1000 Lathe that is for sale for $375. It looks like it is in pretty decent condition, but as I am pretty new to the wood turning world I am hoping that I could get some advice/reviews of this machine - if people have used them before or know much about them.

My first purchase was a cheap, spur of the moment purchase that I have now learnt from - therefore I am looking for advice from those in the know!

I am mainly looking at turning bowls at the moment and then some small spindle items as I move forward. I don't need top of the range just yet - but obviously something that will do the job would be a step up from my last purchase.

Thanks in advance.

Paul

powderpost
13th August 2016, 01:56 PM
Yes they are a reliable old machine. I sold and used many of them years back.

Jim

Braxtonatoraxto
13th August 2016, 02:06 PM
Cheers - will be good to hear from anyone else with experience too.

What about the price? $395 ono.

The pictures are as below.

Also, is that an outboard spindle on the left hand side? That would definitely be a welcome addition.

Cheers,

Paul

hughie
13th August 2016, 02:34 PM
Yes they are a reliable old machine. I sold and used many of them years back.

Jim

Yup totally agree, if its in good nick the price is good

Braxtonatoraxto
13th August 2016, 07:47 PM
So the lathe with a Nova Chuck thrown in for $395 is a good deal as long as it is working like it should?

hughie
13th August 2016, 08:08 PM
Woodlathe Teknatool TL 1000 | Other Tools & DIY | Gumtree Australia Pine Rivers Area - Kallangur | 1120563795 (http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/kallangur/other-tools-diy/woodlathe-teknatool-tl-1000/1120563795)