PDA

View Full Version : Manual for a Yellow Woodfast C1000 Model 2 (manual speed change)

Xanthorrhoeas
23rd August 2016, 11:24 PM
Hi, new poster on this forum (though somewhat experienced in other woodwork forums). I have just bought on the forums marketplace a second hand Woodfast C1000 manual Model 2 lathe (bright yellow). I have no idea the age of the machine. i am an absolute novice with woodturning - I have not done any, so will shortly drive you all mad with questions:U.

First, though, is does anyone have a manual for this lathe please? i would greatly appreciate a PDF or even a snail-mail version (happy to pay postage).

regards

David

Pac man
24th August 2016, 08:03 AM
http://www.woodworkforums.com/f8/woodfast-manual-166734-post1676229#post1676229

Xanthorrhoeas
24th August 2016, 08:55 AM
Thanks Pac Man, that is very helpful. That manual is for a green lathe with a different belt speed change mechanism but will be very useful. This lathe has a lever that liifts to take the weight of the motor off the belt and twists to lock the lever in place. ideally I would like to have the correct manual for this model.

I do not know whether my lathe is older than the green lathes or newer. It does say "Model 2". The front of the belt-drive enclosure is all perspex rather than just a small window.

David

powderpost
24th August 2016, 11:09 AM
Welcome to the forum, if you look on the right hand end of the bed you will find the model number, number of the machine and the year it was made.

Jim

Xanthorrhoeas
24th August 2016, 04:45 PM
Thanks for that information. I have literally only had time to deliver the machine to my workshop before I went to work and haven't got back there yet. Now I know where to look.

David

Xanthorrhoeas
24th August 2016, 07:01 PM
The number stamped on the RHS of the bed is C10260. There is no date there. The CMG motor has a Batch number 02D6111987. Is this likely to be 1987?

The label details are in these photos.