PDA

View Full Version : Don't think this is right!

woodtryer
30th October 2016, 11:21 AM
I started turning a bowl from a "rough" piece of timber I had cut from a blackwood tree a few years ago. Started using my 16mm P&N bowl gouge which I had just sharpened on the vicmarc grinding with a 180g cbn wheel. It started cutting nicely but within 5 minutes or so the shaving coming off felt quite warn on my hands. All I can think of is that the gouge must be blunt already but it happened so soon.

I'm only new to woodturning so I am assuming that warm shavings are not correct and that my sharpening technique needs a review.

Any advice/feedback would be appreciated.

Regards,

Peter

Paul39
30th October 2016, 11:46 AM
I have had shavings come off both wet and dry timber hot enough to burn my hand. More so with dry hard timber. I don't think it is due to unsharpness. A dull gouge will not cut.

A square of cardboard slipped over the gouge to deflect shavings will save your hand if too hot. Put it behind the tool rest so you can see what the gouge is doing.

Welcome to the addiction.

Nubsnstubs
30th October 2016, 01:54 PM
Stuart Batty did a day long demo at our club in Tucson a couple months ago. Other than being an excellent woodturner, he knows how to sharpen tools. He stated that a sharp gouge has a life of about 90 seconds on. It's been my experience that that is a very true statement.

Did you check the end of your gouge to see if it was hot. Mine will get hot while I turn dry wood. I keep my gouge sharp and continue turning while doing the finger dance on the tool. ............Jerry (in Tucson)

woodtryer
30th October 2016, 02:26 PM
Hi Paul and Nubsnstubs, thanks for the fast reply. I didn't realise that hot shavings was common. So maybe my gouge isn't as "off" as I thought. I did take the gouge over to the grinder and gave it a freshen up and it cut nicely and still with warm to hot shavings which I shall no longer worry about.

Thanks,

Peter

hughie