PDA

View Full Version : Chuck identification

Malindy
23rd February 2017, 08:55 PM
I am new to wood turning and have just purchased a Teknatool TL1000.
It came with a number of accessories including this chuck with what looks like Axminster jaws.
The jaws are tightened by screwing in the threaded rim of the chuck.
Can anyone help me identify it and provide any information?

Thanking you

chuck1
23rd February 2017, 09:14 PM
Wow I have one of them also. But looking at your's mine is missing the centrebit.
I think these are pre scroll chucks.

powderpost
23rd February 2017, 10:09 PM
That is a Teknatool chuck, I forget the name it was sold under. It was designed for turning bowls from green timber and had bronze instead of steel jaws. Steel reacts with tanin in wood and produces deep black stains. The four bronze jaws pivoted and each "jaw" had two contact points. The jaws pivoted to compensate for the bowl not being round after the timber dried. The chuck operates in both compression (for spiggots) or expansion to fit into a recess in the hole in the bottom of the bowl. It was supplied with two "C" spanners for tightening the chrome ring on the front of the chuck and also the locking nut at the back on the insert. It was a very good chuck but you needed an extra pair of hands to fit the dried bowl and use the spanners. It was also supplied with a screw chuck. I have one and used it a lot. That chuck has been superceded by the now popular scroll chuck. Must have a look and see if I can find it, it is somewhere in the shed.

Jim

Malindy
24th February 2017, 08:58 PM
Thank you so much Jim for the detailed reply. I shall now be able to educate all the other club members, all of whom had never seen anything like this before.

Richard

powderpost
24th February 2017, 09:58 PM