PDA

View Full Version : Two concave hemispheres

Glider
27th April 2017, 03:08 PM
Firstly, I'm a woodworker but sadly not a turner so I'm looking for both advice from the experts and someone in Sydney who might take on a small paid commission.

A friend has asked me if she could have an item made for making jewellery. It consists of a block of hard wood about 250 x 250 x 200 with two concave hemispheres with diameters 85mm and 60mm included. The are essentially dies which are used to tap out curved shapes in annealed silver sheet; so the timber has to be hard. I have a block of tallowwood which might be OK plus some other close grained hardwood stock.

The hemispheres don't have to be absolutely perfect but close enough to pass for the desired shapes rather and a semi-ellipse.

Is anyone interested in taking this on?

mick :)

Oddy
27th April 2017, 05:31 PM
That should be pretty easy to do I would think. If hammering metal sheets into it, I would probably make the hemispheres in the end grain for strength. I'll leave it to see if you get any responses from someone closer (and more experienced). Another option you might consider is find a smooth ball of the diameter you need and use it to mold the indentation in a resin casting. There are some very strong resins available and might prove cheaper.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Nubsnstubs
28th April 2017, 12:21 AM
I'll lay out my 2 cents on this. I have Dapping dies, but none this large. It looks like you need something over 3 1/2". For the piece I dapped that was too large for my dapping block, I used a 5 pound piece of lead. I made the punch from wood, and proceeded to punch into the lead until I got the shape and size I wanted. I then laid in what I wanted domed, and did it. I spent more time trying to figure out what I was going to use for the project than it took to do the job.......