PDA

View Full Version : a newbie with a few questions

Rob W
16th October 2017, 12:19 PM
Hi All, I am a newbie to wood turning having recently purchased my 1st lathe. I have a had a bit of fun playing around / watching you tube videos etc. Now its time to get a bit more serious and as such I have a few questions.

A mate gave me some black-wood from his farm in the Otways. Wow is it hard. Am I trying to bite of more than I can chew at this early stage??
If I were to buy a band saw for general hobby work, what do I look for??

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Rob

BobL
16th October 2017, 12:38 PM
Firstly welcome to the forums!

A mate gave me some black-wood from his farm in the Otways. Wow is it hard. Am I trying to bite of more than I can chew at this early stage??
Not really, it will be a good test of patience and your sharpening skills.
BTW if you think BW is hard then you have some treats in store when you do find something hard.

If I were to buy a band saw for general hobby work, what do I look for??
It depends on; do you want to be able to break up larger pieces of timber and small logs into smaller pieces" and do you have plenty of space?
If you answer yes to those then I would recommend getting a larger one - maybe a 16" or even an "18" model.

If you answer no to both of those I would suggest at least a 14" model.
Look for something with a 2HP motor.
Make sure it comes with a Fence

If you have spare $$ look at machines like Hammer. Laguna etc which are in the tier above the basic models supplied by Timbecon/Carbatecj/Hare and Forbes.

Hate to say this because I sound like broken record, but lathes are one of THE most dust making machines in a WW shop, Bandsaws also make quite a bit of dust - what have you got for dust collection

mummatoni
16th October 2017, 02:20 PM