PDA

View Full Version : Year 9 student needs help

Neil
27th September 2005, 09:25 AM
Received this in an email this morning, I think it's from Basil (didn't bother to give his name). Don't have time to answer, still looking for factory floor after big move.

Cheers - Neil :)

I am a year 9 student doing a project on wood lathe and woodturning.
Questions I have not been able to find answers to are:

Name the 6 main steps that are used for preparing timber before it can be turned? :confused:

and

What are the 7 safety precautions that you need to be aware of and following when using the wood lathe? :confused:

I would really appreciate any help with these. :)

biotechy2k
27th September 2005, 10:14 AM
1. Obtain permission from your instructor (in your case your wood work teacher)
2. Check Your Clothing
roll up sleeves, if you wear a tie tuck into your shirt or idealy you should wear a good sturdy pair of work overalls, not too loose but comfortable and have enough give for movement, I use a leather apron securly fitted (but then again I am a mum LOL)
Wear and eye sheild or good safty goggles
If you have long hair have it tied back or if long enough put in a plat or tuck under a work cap
3. Rmove any scraps from around the machine, especially from the floor slippery floors are dangerous,
4. Check Lathe
Make sure the switch is off (remove plug from wall socket) check leads, plugs, etc.
Adjust belt to slowest speed- (smallest pulley on motor). Your teacher should increase the speed if necessary. Use slow sped for roughing off corners of your square stock.
Check your guards are in position and securee.
Look and see if the drive rod used for removing spur cntre is removed from headstock.
Check Stock
This should be free from splits and any weak areas or knots
Check built-up stock and reject if any joints are open or badly glued
Face plate stock shoudl have corners removed or cut to a circle
If glued to a backing disc. check the glued joint