PDA

View Full Version : Green Log processing

jaybird
3rd February 2018, 02:21 PM
I need some advise regards working with green logs.
Yesterday I was give come gum logs that were felled in the morning and I picked it up a couple of hours later. I cut out the pith then cut into rounds about 200/300mm x 100mm and gave each piece 4 coats of acrylic paint and today I notice it is cracking. I've never done this before but the plan was to rough turn them then leave to dry. So where did I go wrong or does this happen. Not sure of the type of gum but it had quite a white bark and the area it grows in is quite swampy.
Thanks

Fumbler
3rd February 2018, 03:32 PM
Ever tried turning the bowl green then sticking in the microwave to dry out but whilst still warm, and with oven gloves on bending and squashing the bowl into an odd shape. Sorry if this is off track of what your asking but some food for thought for green logs.

but to seal I think u need something other than acrylic paint.

turnerted
3rd February 2018, 03:41 PM
jaybird
Many gum trees are very prone to splitting and you need to rough turn them ASAP . I would not have worried about trying to seal the blanks . A better method would have been to hold your blanks in a garbage bin of water or wrap them in plastic to stop any drying out until you rough turn them . You should still expect to loose a few though .
Ted

jaybird
3rd February 2018, 04:06 PM
Fumbler, That was the plan.
Ted, It's a big learning curve. I'll see what I can do with some of it in the next couple of days, there are about 4 that look like they may be OK. All wont be lost if it dosen't work out my neighbour has some more firewood.
Thanks

orraloon
3rd February 2018, 04:30 PM