PDA

View Full Version : Which lathe?

DAL1957
30th April 2018, 12:14 AM
Hi All,

I am relatively new to wood turning and quite enjoying the hobby to the point of wanting a better lathe.

Currently I have a Carbatec Pro Mini Lathe (https://www.carbatec.com.au/woodturning/lathes-and-accessories/lathes/carbatec-mini-lathe) WL-B440P which I am told is a re-branded Woodfast, and it has been a great starter lathe.

However, it does have a few limitations for an ultimately aspiring wood turner.

I'd like a larger bed length, more swing, a rotating head stock, and an electronic variable speed (to hopefully future proof me for a long time).

What I am considering is:
1. Either the NOVA Saturn DVR or the NOVA Galaxi DVR from Carbatec.
2. The Woodfast C1000X from Wood Working Solutions.
3. A cheaper alternative could be the 3 position belt electronic speed control Carbatec WL-V1100C

I'd prefer to go with full electronic control over the 3 belt if the budget can be stretched.

Does any one have any views as to the better option? Or are they pretty even?

The Woodfast seems to be a simpler less complex system, theoretically less to break (though not any cheaper).
The (a lot) cheaper Carbatec's downside would be the belt changing (though this probably would be pretty rare).

Any views would be appreciated.

David.

Lyle
30th April 2018, 06:46 AM
I really like my C1000X. Be aware the electronic variable speed range is within each pulley selection.
I also like that the speed control box can be positioned for easy reach when the head is swivelled.

pommyphil
30th April 2018, 07:22 AM
There's been a few secondhand Vicmarcs around recently, have you considered used ?

DAL1957
30th April 2018, 07:41 AM