PDA

View Full Version : What is my Vicmark VL175 worth, looking at selling.

woodhooker
27th December 2018, 08:29 PM
Can anyone give me some idea of what my Vicmark VL175 variable speed lathe is worth to sell. I’m an amateur turner only making pens and would like a smaller lathe. This is a fantastic lathe, had it for 8 years and comes with original stand, outboard turning rest, 2 chucks, spanner, knock out bar and other accessories. I have been told by experienced turners that it is a turners dream to own one of these. Any advice would be much appreciated.

woodhooker
27th December 2018, 09:21 PM
Hi there, I have uploaded photo on my thread. Thanks Smiife.

Paul39
28th December 2018, 01:51 AM
Woodhooker,

Unless you desperately need the space, keep what you have. Don't trade a Mercedes for a Holden Camira. Before doing anything, try out a few smaller lathes and compare with the Vicmark

ian
28th December 2018, 06:32 AM
Woodhooker
are you looking to sell that lathe, or do you need a value for insurance purposes.
If the latter, perhaps settle on the cost of an equivalent new lathe.

DomAU
28th December 2018, 08:16 AM
Woodhooker,

Unless you desperately need the space, keep what you have. Don't trade a Mercedes for a Holden Camira. Before doing anything, try out a few smaller lathes and compare with the Vicmark

Hurtfull :). I drove a Camira for 8 years and over 300,000km. Second best car I've had...and also the first of two haha. But jokes aside it was a great little car - except it required a steady stream of driveshafts, shocks and wheel bearings to keep it going...

Woodhooker,

I may be interested in buying your lathe if the price is right...but as that is the purpose of this post I guess we both don't know what that price is ;).

Cheers, Dom

Peter Z
28th December 2018, 08:35 AM
They are a very good lathe, have had mine for 14 years, at a minimum it is worth what you paid it.

pommyphil
28th December 2018, 10:40 AM