PDA

View Full Version : Magic??? Wands

Wayne Blanch
22nd February 2006, 02:20 PM
Hi all
I have been turning now for a couple of years but I have mostly turned bowls and hollow forms so I limited skills turning between centres. :o

Recently an acquaintance asked me to turn some magic wands for her business. (I told her that I could turn some wands, but magic???)

The wands need to be about 40 cm long and quite thin. (About 10-12mm at the handle end and tapering to a point.) I have turned several and the results are acceptable.

My question is Oh Wizards of Woodwork, how do I stop the wood from bowing as it turns in the lathe? I have been supporting the back of the work with my free hand as I cut but I still tend to get some "ridges" and have to sand more than I like.:mad:

I would appreciate any advice or incantations that you think would help:D.
Thanks
Wayne.

CameronPotter
22nd February 2006, 03:07 PM
You can build (or buy) a support for thin spindle turning. They are not complex and there should be plenty of posts on the matter. I have a book by Richard Raffan that shows a home-made one and I am sure that most woodturning supply places would have a commercial one.

Cam

Kev Y.
22nd February 2006, 03:09 PM
have a look here, it will give you an idea of what is required, you can the scale it to suit your needs.

steady rest pdf file (http://www.turnwood.net/projects/SteadyRest.pdf)

RETIRED
22nd February 2006, 06:38 PM
Hi all
I have been turning now for a couple of years but I have mostly turned bowls and hollow forms so I limited skills turning between centres. :o

Recently an acquaintance asked me to turn some magic wands for her business. (I told her that I could turn some wands, but magic???)

The wands need to be about 40 cm long and quite thin. (About 10-12mm at the handle end and tapering to a point.) I have turned several and the results are acceptable.