PDA

View Full Version : My Lath has developed the wobbles

A-Marks
21st March 2006, 03:44 PM
I'm not a real mechanically minded wood turner and havent been able to work out why my lath has developed the wobbles lately
It's only when I put a big bit of wood on it - over 100x100 - even when its perfectly trued it still vibrates and carries on!

There is a threaded insert that attaches to the threaded bit of the chuck could that wear out?

Allan

Skew ChiDAMN!!
21st March 2006, 05:21 PM
I'm not a real mechanically minded wood turner and havent been able to work out why my lath has developed the wobbles lately
It's only when I put a big bit of wood on it - over 100x100 - even when its perfectly trued it still vibrates and carries on!

There is a threaded insert that attaches to the threaded bit of the chuck could that wear out?

It's not likely that the insert will wear out, unless you've been doing something extremely unusual and unsafe... but it is possible that the grub-screw that locks it in postion has come adrift. This is more likely to result in the chuck spinning off the spindle when turning the lathe off than creating a wobble though.

The basic wobble checklist:

ensure your belt is in good condition, no lumps or chunks missing. (unless you have direct drive, of course! :D )
similarly, check your pulleys are clean. (as above)
check the headstock is bolted down and/or locked securely in position.
check for wear in your headstock bearings! Both side-play and in-and-out. If you can eyeball any slop, they're worn.
ensure the drive spindle isn't bent: Spin the lathe up without the chuck and lightly place the flat of a skew chisel on the top of the thread near the end. If it chatters, well... bad news.
do the same with the chuck mounted, to ensure the chuck's body hasn't warped.
double-check that you have each jaw mounted on the correct slide!