PDA

View Full Version : Advice on scroll chucks

LukeF.
20th April 2006, 10:34 PM
This site is new to me, and this is also my first posting so please excuse my ignorance. I have been turning for about 2/3 months now and have really enjoyed it so far. I have a very basic adjustable chuck that I got with the lathe when I bought it (second hand). I'm not at all happy with it and am wanting to upgrade to something decent. I've had a bit of a look on the internet and am after a bit of advice/personal experiences regarding which I should get. I was looking at either the Vicmarc VM100 (carba-tec $229), or the Supernova2 (http://gpwoodturning.yahoostore.com.au - $185).

Just wondering what users of either type found good/bad about the chucks. Or, what other similar chucks they could recommend. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, Thanks

Wood Butcher
20th April 2006, 10:40 PM
Luke, welcome here and hope you stick around. Word of warning, I hope you have a good sense of humour!! (you'll fnd out why eventually!)

In regards to the chuck, The SuperNova2 is fantastic. I've used them at work and can't fault them. Realistically there is not much difference btween them and it comes down to personally preference. BTW, does the prices you've quoted include the insert to match the thread on your lathe?? Something else to keep in mind!

MathewA
20th April 2006, 11:07 PM