PDA

View Full Version : Turning up new

PAC
15th May 2002, 12:51 PM
I am new to this wood turning area and am seeking good web sites that explain what and how to use tools, speeds for different timbers, safety aspects etc.
Is there anywhere in cyberspace that deals with these questions or is the library my only hope?

Steve

Tim the Timber Turner
15th May 2002, 02:17 PM
Hi Steve
Welcome to the wonderful world of woodturning. I hope it gives you as many years of pleasure as it's given me.

With regards to tool use I belive it is books and vidieo ect are not much use in learning tool skills. They may show you what to do, but if that dosn't work, they don't show you what to do next. What I would suggest you need to do, is to invest in a course (maximim 2 students) with a recognised Instructor. He will stand with you at the lathe and provide the corrections for you to learn from.
He will also show you what equipment you need to purchase.

More importantly than this you need to learn to sharpen the tools. This takes as much if not more experience than using the tools. I spent 2 years with my first teacher, a very experienced trade turner. But he never taught me to sharpen. When I was shown by another turner, my toolskills improved dramaticaly.

Good Luck.

------------------
Some days I turns thisaway, somedays I turns thataway and other days I don't turn at all.

Bruce Bell
16th May 2002, 08:25 PM
Hi Steve,
I agree with Tim lots of people buy a lathe and tools both good and bad and have no idea of how to sharpen the tools or to get the best out of their lathe. My feelings are one shouldbuy a lathe that one can grow into that way you will always be able to meet the challenges this fascinating and wonderful craft enables one to do.

Spend the time and money on lessons from some one who knows what they are doing and can get the message across to you who should be prepared to learn as well.

It is best to be serious about your turning than just half baked.