PDA

View Full Version : Which Mini Wood Lathe ?

CLEVE
12th May 2006, 03:19 PM
Hi All
I'm new to this caper and am tossing up between a Sherwood MC-1018 & a Jet JML1014. Intend playing around with small stuff like fishing floats and other bits and bobs. Should I get the Bed extension now? How much should I spend on my initial chisels? What else do I need to get underway? Any other pitfalls I should be aware of?
Regards Cleve

ss_11000
12th May 2006, 03:45 PM
as for the lathe...i dont no because i haven't used either one.
bed extension, i rekon u should get it if you have enough money or leave it untill you are gonna need it.
chisels. the 6 piece set of hss from carbatec is a good set for beginners and good for learning to sharpen. $99
also you might want to get a scroll chuck etc ( dont no much about chucks but a good place to start is with a scroll).$110 cheapy- $350 expensive
pen mandrel....most turners will want to make a pen, then after that you'll want to make more.$20

Warning, turning is addictive

hope this helps

ps. timbercon, carrols, carbatec, gpw....all sell this stuff.

Coldamus
12th May 2006, 04:42 PM
Cleve,

I'm not qualified to answer all your questions because I tried wood-turning for a short period and decided it wasn't for me.

However I bought the Jet JML1014 and think it is worth the extra over the Sherwood. You would get back more than the difference on resale. Remember also that the asking price is not necessarily your buying price. I paid $400 for mine from MWE at Padstow.

There is no need to buy the extension bed immediately. The lathe has enough capacity to keep you busy for a while in the learning phase. If you decide later to make table legs and such, you can buy the extension then.