PDA

View Full Version : Which beginners chuck should a woodchuck chuck

dazzler
30th June 2006, 09:28 PM
Hey

I am after a chuck for a beginner.

We can get stuff from the carbatec cattledog and these are the choices;

Any suggestions

(dont forget I am a beginner and my money tree is wilting;) )

Budget scroll
http://www.carbatec.com.au/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=300_14210_19381

Tecnatool G3
http://www.carbatec.com.au/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=300_14210_19353_19354

or

the economy tommy bar scroll chuck (page 190 of the c'tec book) for $129 that has the two bars that tighten it. (this is in stock)

I am going to do small bowls and plates :) and maybe that 90kg jarrah burl I have out the back:rolleyes:

cheers

dazzler

Jim Carroll
30th June 2006, 09:56 PM
It would depend on the type of lathe you have.

The budget chuck is a good paperweight.

The G3 scroll chuck was designed for the mini & midi lathes.

The best suggestion is the Supernova 2 as an allround chuck as it is more user friendly. Also when you decide to buy a larger lathe you will have a chuck to move up with you.

If the budget does not allow for the supernova 2 save a bit longer as it will be worthwhile in the long run.

Skew ChiDAMN!!
30th June 2006, 10:02 PM
They still producing the Precision Midi, Jim?

Dazzler, that's Teknatool's tommy bar job for mini/midi lathes. IMHO works as well as the G3 (and takes the same jaws) but was considerably cheaper last time I looked. (I have both.)

I agree wholeheartedly that the Supernova 2 is the best buy for a larger lathe and worth the extra $$$. But I'm biased... I own a couple of them, too. ;)

Jim Carroll
30th June 2006, 10:13 PM
Skew only in very limited numbers and when they get enough orders to make it worthwhile.

Simple answer No.

dazzler
30th June 2006, 10:27 PM
Sorry Guys

Ive got the king of lathes

dah dah dah

The MIGHTY C'Tec MC1100 :D

http://www.carbatec.com.au/store/images/product/MC900.jpg

Cheers

dazzler

soundman