PDA

View Full Version : routing

stevenjw
11th June 2000, 12:29 PM
Can anyone help me?
I am a begginer who would like to do some woodworking.For my first project I want to make something simple like a blanket box. what joints are the best ? I have been told dovetail joints are pretty good. Can anyone help me?

------------------

JackoH
12th June 2000, 01:38 PM
Steven. Like you I am new to routing, having just bought a used triton router table with a Ryobi router. I have found 2 books in our local library which are particularly helpful:- Router Jigs & Techniques. by Patrick Spielman. and Projects For The Router. by Casey Chaffin & Nick Engler.
Cheers. John H.

Roger Peine
3rd July 2000, 11:13 AM
Hiya
Talking about good books regarding woodworking / furniture making . Two books which i would recommend http://ubb.ubeaut.com.au/ubb/cool.gifto any one, regardless of how long you have been working with wood are; "Woodwork in theory and practice" by John A. Walton and; "Encyclopedia of furniture making" by Ernest Joyce .
Both these books cover just about everything that you need to know http://ubb.ubeaut.com.au/ubb/biggrin.gif and, only cost about $30.00 each
coo-ee roj

AlexS
4th July 2000, 09:35 AM
I'd absolutely endorse the recommendation for Joyce's 'Encyclopaedia of Furniture Making'. It's an excellent reference for everyone from mug to expert.

For ideas for boxes, any of Patrick Spielman's books on boxes is worth a look.

good luck.

John Saxton
6th July 2000, 09:09 PM
G'day Steven I have here a few books that I thought I might mention that perhaps you could access through your local Library.
Router Handbook by Patrick Spielman IBSN -0-8069-7776-0
Router Jigs and Techniques by Patrick Spielman IBSN 0-8069-6694-7
Router Projects by Percy W. Blandford ISBN
0-8306-9062-X
Router Projects by Casey Chaffin & Nick Engler IBSN 0-8069-6680-7
ALL of the above are worth while reading particularly the first two if you are starting out with routing.