PDA

View Full Version : Help on green Liquid Amber ice bucket

Bodgy
17th July 2006, 05:37 PM
Just spent the arvo turning a bit of Liquid Amber. A number of issues arose, bearing in mind that I'm relatively new to turning, have an el cheapo lathe and tools, and the LA was only 2 months ago proudly dropping its leaves and spiky seed thingos on our street.

Be nice.

1. The blank was about195mm in diameter. I set the speed to 850 rpm, whilst the outside turned down easily, I really struggled hollowing it out. Too slow?

2. I found cutting the lid off with the parting tool impossible. Could only get about 30mm in, and had to saw it off. Technique, tools?

3. What were hairline cracks opened up and gaped by the end. I filled with epoxy and clamped the thing up overnight. What should I have done?

4. Once epoxy is dry, how do I dry it out for finishing? Microwave? The walls are 15mm thick, the lid solid 35mm, and I left a big base around 70mm.

5. Intend to just Sponsors wax outside, any suggested finishes for the inside? Not that worried about minor toxicity, as only forseeable usage is when I find a new Single Malt and my mates help in the evaluation process.

Incidentally, whilst my tools are rubbish, I did sharpen regularly, without much effect. Am I just too impatient? I noticed that they did get pretty hot tho.

Auzzie turner
17th July 2006, 05:58 PM
Going to end grain? normal if its hard to hollow out. Sounds like your turning a box. Try freezing the item for 3 days, and then try tuning it afterewards to finish it. Try using an oil for the inside. The chisels you are using is carbon steel. They will get hot, and you will need to sharpen them often.

Kepp going,
And a pic needed,

Regards.........Joash

rsser
17th July 2006, 06:12 PM
Can you be more specific?

Q1 ... 'struggled' as in what exactly was happening?

Q2, ditto, what happened? binding? (ie. sides of parting tool got brown) did you start with a tool fresh off the grinder?