PDA

View Full Version : radius on skew chisel

robatman
27th July 2006, 03:45 PM
Hi all,
I'm new to turning and go tthe $109 set of chisels from H&F. It has a 25mm oval skew. I bought a helpful book- (Woodturning- two in one, Phil Irons). A good book with two sections on each page; top one on project and bottom one on technique.

Anyway they talk about putting a slight radius on the skew, just relieving the edges i suppose to avoid catches.

Is this a good idea for a beginner??

thanks
Robert

arose62
27th July 2006, 06:34 PM
Disclaimer: I'm a newbie at turning, so this is just my 2 cents, not authoritative.

I haven't bothered to put a radius on my skews because:

1) it's a bit extra bother when sharpening. With a straight edge you can use your favourite flat abrasive surface - file, diamond thingy, wet-and-dry paper on glass, waterstones etc. etc. without any fancy jigs.

2) I often use the edge as a "straight edge", either just to sight between edge and the workpiece, or even as a scraper. If the edge was a curve, it would be useless to me for these functions.

Cheers,
Andrew

soundman
27th July 2006, 07:12 PM
radius your skew.... hell yeah.
While I can see an advantage to having a straight edge skew in some situations, I have been grinding mine with a radius & find it is a good thing.
it allows you to keep the points out of the work easier, gives you a curved edge when planing that leaves a smoother finish and allows you a longer edge when slicing.
It is no trouble at all to sharpen, in fact its easier , you don't have to keep the edge straight. justa twist of the wrist and there you have it.
I only have a very slight curve but its there.

It wont cost you more than a couple of mm of steel to try it.
cheers

Skew ChiDAMN!!
27th July 2006, 07:40 PM
IMHO the radiused ones are easier to both sharpen and use BUT it all depends on what you're used to in the first place. As Arose said, try it and make up your own mind.