PDA

View Full Version : WIP Dust Collection: Lathe - MC900

Groggy
11th August 2006, 06:11 PM
I know I am probably wasting my time, but I thought I'd have a go at taming the dust from my lathe.

The following photos show a chamber I am putting under the bed to draw the dust down between the ways. Also, at the back, there is a slot so I can channel the shavings into the chamber via a ramp that I have yet to build. I've put a 4" hose connection under the headstock and angled the chamber to feed it.

The front is yet to be completed but will include an angled ramp to keep junk from falling into the shelf area. The chamber reduces in width to keep the suction constant as you go further from the port.

Being a total novice to lathes I am open to suggestions.

dazzler
11th August 2006, 06:39 PM
what a waste of time;)

Actually I think its a great idea. What about a swing up sheet off the back so that bits hit it and are channelled into the dust area.

watching with anticipation:)

Stu in Tokyo
11th August 2006, 08:21 PM
I suggest buying a snow shovel, and making a rack thing to hold garbage bags open for filling.

The only way this would be of use, is if you blow your chips right outside, no bag, otherwise, you will be emptying your DC bag more than you will be turning.

That is like 5 minutes of turning :D

Please don't let me stop you, I'll be interested in what you do end up with.

I use my cyclone for the sanding part of turning, for that it is great!

Cheers!

Skewpid
11th August 2006, 08:38 PM
turning.

That is like 5 minutes of turning :D

Cheers!

LMAO :D

Knee deep in shavings? Pure Bliss.

Im with Stu here, but I think there will be minimal shavings caught in the extractor. The big stuff will still end up on the shelf, in ya ear and on top of the beer fridge, and around your ankles. If it sucks the dust, its doing very well !

Let us know how it goes.

Rich.

Stu in Tokyo
11th August 2006, 09:30 PM