PDA

View Full Version : How not to use a scraper

robatman
12th September 2006, 11:26 PM
Its obvious I'm new to turning, read on!!!!
I got the hang of the roughing gouge and thought I'd give the scraper a go. Frightened the life out of me with a catch almost every time I touched the wood. Decided to give up on it for a few weeks. Came back to it tonight and for some reason thought it might work better without the bevel rubbing!!!!
What a surprise, it worked fine. Guess i have learnt not to angle the scraper up!

Robert

Skew ChiDAMN!!
12th September 2006, 11:44 PM
This is why I recommend beginners to find an experienced turner near them to at least give 'em a quick run through on what's what. But, of course, it's not always possible. [shrug]

But good on ya for working it out, especially as one of the most common pieces of advice I hear is "you should always bevel rub." :rolleyes:

hughie
13th September 2006, 01:11 AM
Frightened the life out of me with a catch almost every time I touched the wood. Decided to give up on it for a few weeks.

I reckon it would :D still I buried my 3/8 gouge about 1/2" into green timber one time.....bit of a heart stopper :eek: kinda stood there and looked at it for time getting my arrhythmias in check...:D :D

TTIT
13th September 2006, 10:20 AM
I reckon it would :D still I buried my 3/8 gouge about 1/2" into green timber one time.....bit of a heart stopper :eek: kinda stood there and looked at it for time getting my arrhythmias in check...:D :D

I actually snapped a 3/8 gouge off on the first non-spindle thing I tried turning :eek::eek::eek:- certainly got the heart pumping. Had to run off and actually ask how it's supposed to be used :o:o:o

Robatman - tilt it to about 45deg for some shear scraping if you really want to see what scrapers shine at!:D

hughie
13th September 2006, 10:45 AM
Had to run off and actually ask how it's supposed to be used :o:o:o