PDA

View Full Version : Some advice please

Michael_Bike
19th October 2006, 08:41 PM
Hi All,
I have aquired (been gifted, really) a Leda mini lathe, 200mm grinder and set of chisels, all basically brand new, from a deceased estate. I have lurked around this forum reading the posts and really want an opinion/advice on my next step.
I want to learn how to use the lathe BUT am not at all sure what else I need!!?!!
I may be able to attend the Melbourne wood show on the coming weekend - so any suggestions about what needs to be purchased is a possibility.
I'm the complete beginner in this area BUT have constructed high performance sports kites in the past.
Thanks
Michael

John Saxton
19th October 2006, 08:51 PM
G'day mate welcome to the BB hope you have lots of happy moments picking up tips as well as giving them.

Enjoy the lathe and all it offers...they can be a heap of satisfaction once the various cuts with tools are mastered.

Cheers:)

Skew ChiDAMN!!
19th October 2006, 09:46 PM
You haven't said, but you should have an AlOxide wheel on the grinder... they're the white ones. I'll assume you have a faceplate, drive-spur and centre for the tailstock, they're included with a new Leda and probably carried over to you. I'll also assume you have a general set of tools including bowl & spindle gouges, parting tools, scrapers, a skew or two, etc.

If you're interested in pens, then you'll need a pen mandrel and a mill. 7mm is the basic starter kit for Slimline pens Oh... and a 7mm centre-point drillbit for drilling the blanks, so you'll also need either a drill-press or a jacob's chuck to fit the lathe. Then you'd need some kits... a good dozen or so, 'cos one just ain't enough :D and some timber blanks to put on 'em.

A bandsaw is a very, very, very handy tool to have... if you don't already have one, give serious thought towards buying one! ;)