PDA

View Full Version : Thicknesser-Jointer opinion/suggestion

Jim J
11th April 2003, 11:00 PM
Dear Woodworking Forum Members,
I am an absolute raw beginner to the world of wood working and am considering buying a thicknesser and jointer.In Fine Woodworking Winter 2002/03 NO.160 there was a review of these machines with the Delta recieving favourable comments. In the Carbatec 2003 cataloque they show the Delta thicknesser no560 for $799 and the Carbatec no340 for $549. Apart from the warranty time they appear to be the same machines. The Delta jointer 195 looks very similar to the Carbatec 196 jointer selling for $649. What also seems a little strange is that both of the Carbatec machineswere $100 more in the 2002 cataloques.
I would be very grateful for any opinions or suggestions on how others have foud these machines. I attended my first ever wood show in Brisbane last year. Would I be wise to hold off purchasing these machines until this years show. Will these machines be offered at better prices at the show or should I just make the move now? Thanks for your help.

chia
12th April 2003, 03:44 PM
JimJ
i too am a novice when it comes to buying the bigger toys,but i recently bought a leda 10 inch planer thicknesser from the melbourne wood show at the end of last year for $980.00.it took a while for delivery from japan to adelaide, to melbourne (3 months) which i wish they could have told me when ordering ,but the wait was worth it.the only thing i can winge about is the infeed roller bites the timber a little too deeply and it is hard to get a cut of less than 1.5 mm otherwise all is fine.maybe someone out there can let me know how to adjust this to get a smaller cut? Anyway i dont think you mentioned what size the thicknesser was that you were looking at but $980 was the best i could find for a ten inch with enclosed cabinet and good cast beds and fence.Planer bench is a metre long and fence and cutter cover are extruded aluminium. hope this helps

chia

Darryn