PDA

View Full Version : Why is this %^%##!! scraper grabbing????

Arno
4th November 2006, 07:26 PM
I have been turning of and on for a while and I am no expert but have made a few decent pieces. The last few bowls I have been turning I have had problems finishing the bottom with a scraper. Make that two different scrapers! :( :( I have put the tool rest as far as possible into the bowl (I have a rounded one so it goes in a fair way) have very little overhang. Gently gently (after it almost ripped the bowl out of the chuck - not that I think I was being too aggressive) but no, it grabs and tears a chuck out of the bottom :mad: :mad: . Mostly happens towards the sides. Have reduced rpm but still having problems. Re-sharpened the scraper (70 deg) but still not joy...

Any hints??

Thanks, Arno

WoodNerd
4th November 2006, 07:46 PM
is it particually tough wood, (buggerwood):D

Try not putting the scraper flat on the tool rest. that is, angle it so it is sheerscraping. It a bit hard when doing details on the bottom, though. i aloso find that if you can get the little carbide burnishers that create a burr on the end of your scraper it will not cut as much and reduce catching.

Caveman
4th November 2006, 07:47 PM
Hey Arno - no expert myself, but what angle are you holding the scraper at and at what hieght is the tool rest. From what I know, the tool rest should be above centre hieght and the the scraper should be held with the cutting edge to the bowl slightly downwards.
Hope that makes sense - I know what I meant:confused: .

I'm sure the guy's here will come up with a solution to your problem.

Don Nethercott
4th November 2006, 07:49 PM
Hi Arno,
Could be any of a hundred things, but here are a couple of ideas.
Are the corners of the scraper sharp or rounded. A sharp corner can catch and cause this kind of problem.
Is the end ot the scraper straight or slightly curved. A curved scraper can be a lot less troublesome.