PDA

View Full Version : a basic good set of turning tools

Peter Lynch
25th November 2006, 01:41 PM
I am a professional furniturmaker, but am brand new to turning. I have some work that requires some turning from time to time and now it seems that I have several projects that require both spindle and bowl turning. I have cobbled together some inexpensive lightweight tools and have hacked around with them (oftern disapointedly and poorly). I don't even think I am using the tools corectly. I want to start fresh and learn to turn well and incorporate this into my furniture business.

What is a good basic set of good quality tools to do a variety or spindle and bowl applications. Be specific and include any good tidbits of knowledge that would set me on the right path. I like detail and am eager to absorb as much into as I can get.

Sincerely,

Peter Lynch, Manchester, Michigan USA

thefixer
25th November 2006, 02:30 PM
G'day Peter

The best place to start would be to join your local wood turners club.If they are anything like blokes in Oz then they will be more than glad help you out with all information and guidance you need.

Cheers
Shorty

Cliff Rogers
25th November 2006, 03:40 PM
Yeap, go along to a few club meetings & see if you can get some locally run tuition before you go out & buy tools.
In the long run, you will make less mistakes & save some money.

I reckon sets are a bit of a waste of money, sure, sometimes it is cheaper to buy a set than all the same tools individually but there always seems to be 3 good tools in a set, one you hardly use & one you never use.

Skew ChiDAMN!!
25th November 2006, 07:13 PM
Actually, I advocate a learner to buy a reasonable cheap set.