PDA

View Full Version : Finishing gumnut ?

lubbing5cherubs
28th November 2006, 10:06 PM
HI I have turned doll house furniture from gum nuts but my question is what would you finish them with please.
Thanks Toni

keith53
28th November 2006, 10:15 PM
HI I have turned doll house furniture from gum nuts but my question is what would you finish them with please.
Thanks Toni

Got any pics Toni?

Rookie
28th November 2006, 10:16 PM
Oh come on Toni, you can't tell us you've turned gumnuts into furnitrure and then not post a pic!!!

Please???

Doh. Great minds

thefixer
28th November 2006, 10:16 PM
Hi Toni

I assume the gumnuts are dry and therefore I would imagine them to be very porous. I'm not an expert on timber finishing but I think shellawax or the like would be out of the question for something so small so I reckon a brush on or spray lacquer would be the go. Would need to rather thick though otherwise the gumnuts will kust keep sponging it up. maybe a sanding sealer first and then urethane. Lets see what the experts say

Cheers
Shorty

echnidna
28th November 2006, 10:20 PM
I think dipping them in shellac then let them dry then dip them again etc etc until they are evenly coated.

lubbing5cherubs
28th November 2006, 10:22 PM
I will as soon as camera takes a charge. It only little dolls house stuff. Joys of 4 daughters. Mum's brain can relate. LOL
toni

keith53
28th November 2006, 10:38 PM
I will as soon as camera takes a charge. It only little dolls house stuff. Joys of 4 daughters. Mum's brain can relate. LOL
toni

Only 4 daughters? You need to take up boxmaking as well. That way, when they have daughters, you can make jewelry and earring boxes for all of them. :D At least you've done it though. I still cop a caustic comment from my eldest daughter (35 yo) now and then about the dolls house I was going to build for her when she was 5.

echnidna
28th November 2006, 10:45 PM