PDA

View Full Version : First Router Purchase

cadnams
11th June 2003, 11:57 PM
I am brand new to the whole routing game and I am desperately chasing some advice.

As I always do I've been doing loads of research on what to buy. Theory is great and knowing everything about what you're buying is important, but nothing beats practical experience. This is where you guys come in.

I have been looking at routers in the 2HP range. I just think that a monster machine might not be the best learning option (am I wrong?). I intend to make a router table at some stage so I need a router that will suffice for that job (even if not perfect). However, when I feel the need to use big panel raising bits I will buy a more powerful tool. I imagine it will be quite a while before I can justify the need for a bigger one.

Anyway, in that range I have been looking at the Dewalt DW621 and the Porter-Cable 7529 (or now the 8529 I think). I know there are lots of Hitachi advertising volunteers out there (they must be good routers) and I here talk about the Makita's and to a lesser extent Bosch as well. I assume staying away from the "handy-man" level routers is the way to go? (sorry Mr Ozito) I am happy to spend the money on a good quality tool and I am looking for advice from those who have skills and experience that I lack. Thats you!

Thanks everyone.

Also, can you even buy Porter Cable routers in Australia??? I have been unable to find a retailer so far.

Wayne Davy
12th June 2003, 12:24 AM
Mate,

Porter Cable are handled by Carbatec in Australia. BUT, if you are going to spend that amount of money on a Router go look at the Triton Router. This thing beats the pants of anything else on the market. Don't believe me, check out the reviews.