PDA

View Full Version : Wet tropics

2Thumbs
26th February 2007, 05:07 PM
Greetings all.
I have few acres to plant in the wet tropics.(Innisfail area)
Deep soil and well drained including a lower couple of acres which floods occasionally.
I'm fairly new to the tropics and totally ignorant when it comes to tree species that might suit the land.
My hope is that I can grow a mixed forest of cabinet timbers with a few nut/fruit trees too.
The previous owner planted some eucalypts which I havent identified, about 6 years ago. Some of them were 50 -60 ft tall before cyclone Larry pruned them - thats almost unbelievable to me since as I previously grew trees on a block in the Western Australian wheatbelt where the annual rainfall was about 400mm and growth rates very small.
Any suggestions will be most appreciated.
Cheers

Cliff Rogers
26th February 2007, 05:25 PM
Have a bit of a dig around in here....

http://www.rirdc.gov.au/programs/aft.html

There is a local group, I'll see if I can find a contact for you & get back to you shortly.

Also try these people. (I do their computer repair/support.)
http://www.biotropica.com.au/projects.html

Also download this pdf (beware, it is almost 2Mb for just 2 pages of info)
http://www.rainforest-crc.jcu.edu.au/infosheets/forestry_plantations.pdf

2Thumbs
26th February 2007, 05:46 PM
I've had the briefest of looks, but it looks like a mine of info.
Thanks Cliff

Cliff Rogers
26th February 2007, 06:01 PM
More info....

If you are in the Johnstone Shire, there is a reveg unit & you should be able to get their handbook.

There is a Master Tree Growers Course run by Melbourne Uni & they ran a course up here last year but may not run another one for a while.

I have a list of names & phone numbers & e-mail addresses that I will PM to you.

Cliff Rogers
26th February 2007, 06:08 PM
One other thing..... the seed stock / resources are becoming very hard to get.