PDA

View Full Version : Tough Lathe

Kiwi Greg
25th June 2003, 09:39 AM
I have a "Tough" lathe. It has a three phase motor on it at present. Is there a need to run three phase on a lathe or can I go to a single phase motor.
Is there a contact for these lathes I understand they were made in W.A
At present it has a screw face plate but I am looking at different options for chucking. I also have two Morse tapers one cupped and one with 4 spurs on it. Suggestions for most functional/adaptable system.??
Are there specific live centres for the tailstock that I should purchase? ( currently dos not have one)
Also there appears to be no ability to clamp tool rests on the large bowl turning part. I.e an outrigger attchment. Does anyone know if this can be added.

Sorry for the newbie questions but I am just getting started with this gear.

Greg:)

Tristan Croll
25th June 2003, 10:33 AM
My first lathe was a (very) old woodfast which I picked up cheap when the local high school upgraded. It had a 2 hp 3-phase motor which we replaced with a single horsepower 1-phase, with no major problems. You should, however, try to make sure that the speed of the replacement motor is close to that of the original (mine was somewhat faster, which made for sometimes quite exciting turning). :eek:

As for the rest of the questions, I'll leave those to someone more qualified than myself.

HTH,

Tristan

arose62
25th June 2003, 12:59 PM
Looks like you're in NZ - you should look into the Teknatool chucks. Their web site also has info on drive- and tail-centres.

http://www.teknatool.com/

>I also have two Morse tapers one cupped and one with 4 spurs
>on it.

Sounds like "drive centres" rather than "Morse tapers" (which are a standard way of attaching bits & pieces to the motors that turn them - eg: drill chucks into drill presses).

You can get drive centres which have either Number 1 Morse taper, or Number 2 Morse taper, which will then fit into any lathe which accepts No 1 MT , or No 2 MT.