PDA

View Full Version : catches!

jimran
2nd March 2007, 08:06 AM
HELP!
I am a beginning turner and am having a devil of a time avoiding catches when attempting to turn the inside of a small bowl (about 4" inside diameter). The blank is a redwood burl and has a wavy, natural lip. I am wondering if my tool rest height is wrong. I can do all right on the outside but when I try to turn the inside - Bam - the dreaded catch. I have the tool rest set at right angles to the lip of the vessel so have about an inch and a half of overhang on the tool. I will switch to the rest parallel to the vessel if I ever get it deep enough to do so. Any and all advice is more than welcome

lubbing5cherubs
2nd March 2007, 08:44 AM
Gidday mate, I am only learning myself so I can't help you out much. But I just wanted to say welcome to the board. SOmeone will be out of bed shortly will be able to help you
Toni

TTIT
2nd March 2007, 08:55 AM
Welcome to the forum Jim. Need to know what type of chisel you are using??? Avoiding the catches will depend on how you are 'presenting' the tool to the wood - ie: angles, height etc which varies with each tool.

Cliff Rogers
2nd March 2007, 09:46 AM
:repost:

Lessons and see if you can find a club near you or some forum members who are turners within range of your place.

While you are learning, you will learn heaps faster hands one with an experienced turner. (Or even a novice who has already had some lessons & made a few things already)

Next best is videos but they are apoor second place 'cos you can't ask questions.

WillyInBris
2nd March 2007, 11:54 AM
Hi Jimran,

I would have to agree with cliff, try to find a club in your area, I have now been going to lessons for the past month every Sunday and I have been learning so much, correct presentation of tools and accuracy, as well as some social fun as well.

All I have been working on is spindles and this week I start to make my own chisel handles as well as a mallet.