PDA

View Full Version : Another Introduction

Robynb
20th March 2007, 08:16 PM
Hello Everyone,

I'm Robyn from WA. I've been lurking here for a while, but have not posted before.

I've been playing with woodwork for a couple of years, but still very much a beginner. I've had no previous experience - I come from the era when I had to do embroidery at school while the boys did wordwork! I never finished that embroidery piece, and never did it again - I hated it!!

I started woodwork because I needed something to stand on to mount my horse. Milk crates work well, but one ends up putting one's foot through when the crate gets a bit old. I made that piece using a hand saw, glue, screws and a book on joints. Then I made a taller one for hubby to put his welder on. Then I made another one as a stand for the pump on the fire trailer. Then I made onother one as a step to get up into the back of the big ute (F150). Then I decided I better make a workbench. The rest as they say is history.

Now I have a collection of hand planes (including a record 045), 3 routers (1 of them in a table I made), some Japanese hand saws and a heap of other power and hand tools. Hubby is now confined to one small corner of the shed and he's not happy. I've made some decorative boxes, a coffee table, some carved figures, and other bits and pieces. Currently I'm working on a chest of drawers. I decided I needed some dovetail practice, so the carcase and the drawers are all joined with hand cut dovetails.

I've joined a women's woodworking club here in Perth, and I'm learning some laminating and inlay techniques for jewellery making. Next stop - turning!

I love this forum, so much really good help and advice. So many great people.

Cheers, Robyn :)

echnidna
20th March 2007, 08:20 PM
Welcome Robyn,
show us some pics of your work

Robynb
20th March 2007, 08:34 PM
Thanks Bob. I'll do some pics as soon as I sort them out and figure out how to put them here!

Cheers, Robyn

Doughboy