PDA

View Full Version : what is the best way to dry a freshly turned green bowl ?

buzzby
31st March 2007, 10:32 PM
I am a newbie so sorry if this gets asked a lot but have read so many different ways to do this , have tried a few like put in a plastic bag with a small towel changing the towel every 3 to 4 weeks untill the towel comes out dry.

So if there is a better more reliable way to get the green wood to cure without spliting or badly warping I'd like to hear what others do . I do relise diferent woods also effects this process.

Skew ChiDAMN!!
31st March 2007, 11:02 PM
Really, there is no "best" way. It all depends on the type of wood, what you have turned and... whether it works for you. (Get any two people using the same technique using the same products on similar pieces of wood and you can bet they'll disagree over whether the results were worth it. :rolleyes:)

I like nuking in a microwave, but it doesn't seem to work as well on timbers thinner than around 15mm. That could just be a result of my aging microwave though. :shrug: For some timbers soaking in a Liquid Dishwashing Detergent solution (aka LDD) or Denatured Alcohol (aka DNA) gives better results. These methods have been discussed fairly heavily on these fora, a search will give you a heap of info. Generally they're talking about treating roughed items (eg. bowls turned to about 1" wall thickness) and turning to finished size afterwards, but they should work on a "finished" item just as well.

They may need a bit of a clean-up after treatment though. :D

(Oh... and by "finished" I only mean finished turning, not "finished, lacquered and polished." Obvious, I know, but some people make me wonder... :no::doh:)