PDA

View Full Version : Record Lathe

1chrome
21st July 2003, 11:27 PM
I am looking at buying a second hand Record D M L 24 ,are they a good lathe for a beginner like me and what price should i pay for one in good order.As i said i am only a beginner and any advice would be helpfull.

1chrome
23rd July 2003, 08:57 PM
Thanks for the advice doorstop.There a little more to buying a lathe then i thought.Have you any advice on a good beginners lathe under $1000 or am i asking a bit much at that price

Wayne Davy
24th July 2003, 12:19 AM
1chrome,

Listen to stoppers as he really knows his stuff. However, you don't have to go to Perth. As you live in Brisbane, check out Carbatec (http://www.carbatec.com.au/) , Gregories Machinery or Hare & Forbes. They all have lathes in your range (well Gregories will be at the top end).

And do as stoppers says - find one or two you like and get back on the forum and ask for opinions (not from me - I'm a beginner when it comes to turning).

colh
24th July 2003, 10:07 AM
1chrome

some comments, based on my vast experience (since January this year:D )

I bought the Hare and Forbes WL18 for under $400. It's virtually the same as the Carba-tek MC900 except for the spindle and motor sizes. Timbecon, Total Tools and Jet all seem to have their own rebadged versions. Depends whether you want a blue one, a blue and cream one, a brown one or a white one - makes all the difference.

Specs: 900mm between centres, 300mm swing over the bed, 10 speed (500 to 2000 revs) swivel headstock, hollow tailstock, cast iron bed, on a stand, 750 watt motor, 1" x 10 TPI spindle, #2MT head and tailstock.

comments: 500 rpm is still a bit fast for bigger pieces that are out of balance, otherwise it seems to to the job well. also, it doesn't have an indexing head, but the chuck does, so a simple jig fixed that.

[Aside - can anyone suggest ways of halving the motor speed? it's a variable ratio belt drive so it doesn't look all that easy to change pulley sizes]