PDA

View Full Version : Found - Wood Whispering Women

robynmau
22nd May 2007, 06:07 PM
Hi all

I just found Wood Whispering Women, what a fabulous idea. Congratulations to the instigator and uBeaut for facilitating it :roll:

I recently came out in the Turners board, after lurking for quite some time, so I thought I would be 'brave' and declare myself here as well:B

I've been turning for approx 6 years now and am really addicted. I started woodworking at the local night classes as a reward to myself for finishing my formal course of study [as mature age student I needed lots of carrots at the end of 5 years study I can tell you] I made a few things there, but then I found a local woodturner who runs weekly workshops, and I've been humbugging him ever since :q

I've always loved wood, but like lots of people in my age group, gender played a big part in opportunities we had. These days, that's all by the by, thank goodness, and I get to have the wood whisper to me, whenever :roll:

These days I might enhance my turnings by colouring, texturing, carving or the like but I also leave some of them plain, depending on the wood I am using.

I turn lots of different woods as I've built up a good stash of local woods but I really like turning mahogany, black wattle and ironwood. I sell some of my pieces through local galleries, but most of my things go to family and friends.

I thought I'd do a bit of show & tell while I'm here:

Piece #1 - beauty leaf bowl that warped, so I carved out the petals
Piece #2 - small black wattle box
Piece #3 - medium sized figured black wattle bowl
Piece #4 - small black wattle bowl with bead enhancements

I don't hop on the computer a great deal any more, but will definately be dropping by when opportunity rises.

Cheers

Robynmau

flynnsart
22nd May 2007, 06:45 PM