PDA

View Full Version : searching for a lathe Union Graduate/Jubilee/Wadkin..?

BritishLathe
1st August 2007, 09:29 AM
Hello.

My name is Fabian Mayer, I live close to Munich (Germany) and I am studying forestry...

I have been captivated by wood many years ago. About 8 years ago my family and I went on holiday to Bozen and I bought a few tools and some arollar pine? (pinus cembra) and started carving. I liked it but I had big difficulties in making bowls and in carving hard-wood. Some years passed by and I found out about turning this year.
Over an internet forum I found some people who where turning and so I dried to turn some things and was fascinated immediately. But most of all I liked turning bigger bowls (for fruits, salat,..). One only needs one tools for it and a bowl is such a good present or useful and nice object...

Well, so I started looking for a lathe but I had soon to find out that a lathe for turning bowls has to be a solid and heavy lathe and that it is very expensive, at least to expensive for me (%$§ student life). A friend of mine bought a Union Graduate bowl tunring lathe over the internet in GB and the price-performance ratio for such a lathe is very good.

So I decided to buy a Union Graduate or Union Jubilee 5 weeks ago but I have been quite unsuccessful, unlucky and at the moment I am very disappointed.. I bid on ebay 200 but it was nit enough.. I bid 250 it was not enough... I found a Union Graduate for 50 but the seller did not answer on my questions. I searched the internet about Union Graduate/Jubilee but I only found lathes in very good condition and too expensive for me (400-1500). I need a frequency converter for turning bowls and that will cost about 130. A friend of mine drive to GB every 3 weeks and he could pick up a lathe for me (around London) but that would cost another 65.