PDA

View Full Version : Secure Bottle Tops

neilb
10th September 2007, 08:42 AM
I used to brew a good drop in the days of old when you didnt screw the tops off bottles. I am considering doing it all again because of the cost these days of buying beer. It ridiculous.

What I want to know is, are the screw tops of today secure enough for home brewing, and can they be re-used. Or can you still get the capped type of top and will they fit onto the screwed bottles of today ?
Neil. :?

TermiMonster
10th September 2007, 10:57 AM
I've been brewing for about 10 years. Not long after I started, the bloke in the brewing shop said the screw cap crown seals were not good for brewing, they didn't seal that well. (he them tried to sell me some screw cap bottles).
Being the type that needs to check things out for himself, I used the screw type crown seals and have for most of that 10 years, and have never had a problem.
Mind you, I prefer the grolsch swing tops, of which I now have quite a few:2tsup:
You make up your own mind:rolleyes:
Cheers,
TM

Ramps
10th September 2007, 05:27 PM
Likewise
I have been using screw top stubbies for about 10 yrs without a prob. But you buy just the (now) normal crown seals as they all have the "thread" built into them when you use the normal capper ... wouldn't try to re use any caps though

Dr Jan Itor
10th September 2007, 05:30 PM
Just to reinforce the previous posts, I also have never had a problem with using twist top bottles.

echnidna
10th September 2007, 05:52 PM
screw on cap soft drink bottles work well

Bluegum
10th September 2007, 08:25 PM
I use both crown seals and screw tops and never had a problem with them. I find that the screw tops seal realy well and I have never had a bad batch out of them.

neilb
26th September 2007, 06:14 PM
Thanks for the comments, I feel more comfortable now with the screw tops. I was wondering though, about using the Plastic soft drink bottles ????
Neil.:?

Ramps
26th September 2007, 11:57 PM