PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a table saw? - complete amateur

NoTalentSteve
24th October 2003, 12:06 PM
First of all, I'm a complete woodworking novice. I'm an IT professional and woodworking has only just come into my life.
I'm in the process of building a cabinet and need to construct a control box that's about a metre wide.
Anyway, I need to make some cuts into timber that require a 6 degree tilt on the blade, and a 45. I made a quick image to show what I mean. Not too informative, I don't suppose. :) It shows how the timber would have to be cut as it lays on the table.
Friends have suggested just using a power saw that can be angled but I'm not sure I like the idea of trying to run it along a line to keep it straight. I guess I'd need to clamp a straight piece along side it to act as a "fence" (right word?)
So, I could buy a power saw or a table saw. Reading these forums I like the sound of the 10" MT-250 ($379) from Carba-tec, except that the salesman says I'd need a dust extractor to go with it. Could I get away without it for VERY light use?
Or, would a power saw be more useful to me, even though I'd need to mess about a bit to get the cuts staight?
Any help/advice/insults would be gratefully accepted. I can skim through a computer catalogue and tell the good from the bad but woodworking is a new and frightening world :)

TOMARTOM
24th October 2003, 01:04 PM
This can be achieved with a

No 4/5 Handplane(not powered)
A straight piece of wood as a guide
A protractor (newsagant)
A Circular saw
A sliding bevel
A piece of sandpaper

If you buy the plane second hand and the cheaper lines of circular saw you could probably get away with $80-$100.

Hope this helps

Regards Tony

TOMARTOM
24th October 2003, 01:20 PM
PS, Let me encourage you on your new found love in woodworking, and I am sure with perserverence you will achieve more then what you thought possible.