PDA

View Full Version : high-value cuts for nth coast hardwoods?

Darkwood
27th October 2007, 12:49 PM
g'day

i'm a farmer who has moved into small scale milling of late, using my own resources and equipment - now that most of my many on-farm projects (including a house extension) are taken care of and i'm fully familiar with the capacities and limitations of my Ecosaw (Lewisaw), i'm turning my attention to milling possibilities of a cash generating kind . . .

i'm working mainly with blue gum, rose (flooded) gum, tallowood, brush box, bloodwood, turpentine, white mahogany - some good specimens among them. i've also got a few dozen pecans to be removed, some of which are a nice size, but shaped for nuts rather than wood.

the mill does boards to 16inches (if cutting from both sides), and can accurately taper on both dimensions. I can slab also - at least i will when I get hold of a big chainsaw (a disadvantage of the Ecosaw) - advice on best models for slabbing welcomly received.

what i'm mainly wondering is whether this game is all about matching cuts to orders - or are there niche markets that can be pursued by small scalers able to provide high quality product in non-typical dimensions?

i'm also harvesting quite a few decent pole-sized thinings - is there a market for squared poles (i've used a few like that myself)?

apologies if this is old ground for this forum.

cheers

glock40sw
27th October 2007, 05:39 PM
G'day.

It depends. We are always looking for good boards cut 110x28mm 2.1 to 5.4m long. In BBX and Blue Gum.

Slabing in hardwood is also a money spinner. Talk to the slab factory at Mullumbimby or the slag man at Ulmarra.

Skylynx
28th October 2007, 01:55 PM
If only I were your next door neighbor!! I do Northwest Coast Indian carvings, most of them 14" by 48", larger if I can. But I live in Florida. So hard to find good trees to carve, as yellow pine and oak here are way too hard. I would think the shipping coast is going to be your main problem.