PDA

View Full Version : What's this tool?

jimhanna
29th November 2007, 07:47 PM
Hi, I was wondering if anyone could tell me what the tools pictured below are.

I’ve bought a cheap copy lathe on offer at the local DIY shed (I saw Norm Abram use one once and thought it looked an easy way to make identical stuff) I’ve never used a lathe before and have been reading up online before jumping in, there’s a lot of info about conventional turning tools and techniques but I can’t find anything about copy lathe tooling.

I’m mystified by the long tool, it comes with three interchangeable circular discs which look as though they are the cutter but I can’t see how this would work, the smallest disc doesn’t protrude beyond the holder so I can’t see how it would contact the stock.

artme
29th November 2007, 09:45 PM
The top three are cutters for the duplicater. There should be a heavy cast iron base/post with a facility to take these cutters. They look ugly and may take some experimenting with to get them to cut properly. Apart fron a lathe that was manufactured in South Aus some years ago I've never seen one of these that works really well unless you are doing shallow , flowing curves
Your assumption about the others is correct. These interchangeable tips are for turnig. They are used on the inside of hollow forms to assist in getting into hard to reach spots. I don't think the small one would reach anything-as you suspect.
Its probably worth experimenting with all of these tools just to see what you think. I f you look up any turning tool catalogue you will probably see those round replaceable tips. I'll lay London to a brick on that the quality is in a different class though.:p
BTW I don"t gamble.

hughie
29th November 2007, 10:09 PM
They are all part of the copying setup by the look of it.The smaller interchangeable are tips most likely carbon steel, along with the cup type and so wont be as good a modern HSS.