PDA

View Full Version : some questions on technique

Arron
22nd January 2008, 06:31 AM
Hi, I'm relatively new at turning and these are some of the things that I have been wondering about. All of these questions apply to turning between centres (if it makes a difference).

I have been reading a book on turning which seems to imply that every time you make contact between a tool and the workpiece you should first get it resting on bevel, then after a second or two waiting for it to steady, withdraw the tool slightly till it starts cutting. I seem to remember something like that at the course I did too - though it wasnt enforced. Am I interpreting this correctly, and if so, who can say they do this every time - or do most people shortcut?

Second question - I have one of those cheapo Hare and Forbes lathes. The hollow tailstock allows a boring bar to be pushed through. The hole diameter is 10mm (or is it 3/8inch). What do you do when you want a hole of smaller diameter in the workpiece? I tried pushing a 7 mm auger through and ended up with hole that started offcentre and went crooked from there, which didnt surprise me.

Third question - my reading and limited experience implies that a skew chisel is most effectively used when it is at making contact with the workpiece almost at the top surface - say at a point 10-20 degrees from vertical. Is this true? If so, why does my lathe have such a short tool rest post. It doesnt seem to allow the tool rest to be raised above the mid point. What do others do about this? Obviously moving the toolrest further from the workpiece will help but that seems to violate another safety cannon.

Final question - I should know this from the course, but I always end up wondering. If using a roughing gouge for roughing, what part of the tip should really be doing the cutting. Is it the side or the bottom corner ?

many thanks for reading this far.
Arron

rsser
22nd January 2008, 06:43 AM