PDA

View Full Version : Sharpening Gouges

Woodchuck
14th December 2003, 07:14 PM
Hi all again,

I ordered a small shed (3m x 3m) to set up a small work shop & it's turned up at last & now it's up & have made a start on my small firewood factory lol. Just bought a grinder the other day & some grinding stands as the ones on the grinders look pretty small & not very useful.

Had my first go at sharpening my turning tools & had no problems getting a sharp edge which is pretty much razored now after honing with a fine slip stone. For some reason tho I seem to get a better edge on the tools with a soft 80grit wheel than a slightly harder & finer 120grit one. Not real certain as to how that works out, but am a total newbie to it all so am just happy I got things real sharp.

Anyways, my problem is with the gouges. I'm going nuts with the bevels on them & just can't get it correct. The tools I have had a straight across bevel, which I tried to remove the wings/sides on.

I think they call the style I was trying to make them fingernail ? Anyways I can get a single facet & a sharp edge, but the tip ends up a rather sharp curve almost a point & the angle of the bevel/facet is way out now & too long so I can't rub the bevel.

So anyone know what the angle of a gougle bevel should be so I can try to correct it please & also any tips on how to get rid of the wings/sides without making the bevel too deep/long ?

Thanks & Cheers
Woodchuck

Woodchuck
14th December 2003, 07:20 PM
Oh I forgot to also ask what people prefer to use/do to remove burrs. I used a slip stone but was wondering if anyone uses or has tried a strop or cloth wheel & some honing/buffing compond & would this be quicker or better ?

Cheers
Woodchuck

DarrylF
14th December 2003, 09:07 PM
I've been turning for a bit over a year and I'm just starting to get the hang of sharpening gouges :)

The white wheels work much better than the grey. For touching up a 1" vertical belt sander does a nice job also.