PDA

View Full Version : Urgent help needed

Stufart
10th April 2008, 06:04 PM
G"day guys, Im new here and I need some urgent help finging a tool that will cut this shape. I have looked at copy lathes, router lathes and so on. Im only a beginer at wood work so this is a bit new to me. I build and sell fishing rods and this handle has caused me much greif over the past few years. The photos will show a beofre and after shot. this shows the angle or curves I need cut out of the timber. Any help would be great.

Stu

wheelinround
10th April 2008, 06:09 PM
Stu can hardly make out the shape but guess part of it from second pic

Off setting it will work

Like doing table legs of similar shape :2tsup:

Stufart
10th April 2008, 06:24 PM
Don’t mean to sound stupid, but what do you mean by off setting it? Im only new to wood working and although I love it, Im still very green. Thanks very much for the reply. Would you have any pics of off setting or the tool to do it with?
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>
Stu

Stu in Tokyo
10th April 2008, 08:19 PM
Hi Stu!

We are talking about the wooden knob on the end that goes onto the base of the rod (looks like some kind of graphite?)

I'd turn wooden part like a normal spindle, I'd do it with the flared end in the chuck, then I'd drill a hole to take in the round part on the rod, then I'd cut the curve on the piece with the bandsaw.

Here, a bit clearer pic of your rod

Here is the first step I'd do, turn a spindle like this, with a hole drilled into the left end of it.........

Then cut the curve to match your rod on a bandsaw.

You would have to make up a jig to hold the piece while you cut it, but that would not be a big deal.

Well, that is how I'd do it.

Hope this helps

Cheers!

hughie
10th April 2008, 08:23 PM
Stu,

Failing that look around for a cnc router with 4 axis's it would do it very easily.

Stufart
10th April 2008, 08:25 PM
Stu in Tokyo