PDA

View Full Version : Female Timber Cutter

LogDog
15th April 2008, 03:34 PM
Hi everyone, I am a female timber cutter in Far North Queensland. I have been doing this for just on 3 years. I use a Lucas Mill and Sambron 4wd forklift. I cut mostly for myself but occasionally for others who need their logs milled. I have a male business partner who is also crazy about cutting timber. Up here we cut the most amazing logs and every log is like cutting open a gemstone. I wonder if there are many other female timbercutters in the world? Or am I a rareity. One day soon I will start to work with my mountain of cabinet timbers and would love to connect with some other women who get into fine timbers too. I live on a large Cattle station near Mount Garnet and would like to meet some other wood women. I am coming to the sunshine coast for the Maleny wood expo, Cooroora wood and craft show and the Brisbane working with wood show, I am hoping to sell some timber to help fund my future in furniture making. Maybe I will see you there, or just email me if you can't make the shows and want to chat.
Cheers!:B

RufflyRustic
15th April 2008, 04:46 PM
Hi and a Big Wecome Ms LogDog!!! :D:2tsup::D

It's exciting to hear what you do and how much you enjoy it!

Sorry, I'm no timber cutter myself, more of an avid wood listener who enjoys building boxes, cabinets and the like from timber, all sorts of timber, though at present, I'm having a bit of fun with birdseye pine.

So, you'll be at the Brisbane Wood Show. Fantastic! I'll be there too. Would love to meet up:)

Cheers for now.

The other Wood Whispering Women will be around soon too :U
cheers
Wendy

Ivan in Oz
15th April 2008, 05:11 PM
G'Day LogDog,

Welcome aboard, Gal.

Wendy [I believe] didn't quite tell you all.....
She and I and a WHOLE lot of others had a Woodworking GTG at Nerang
[Where we DIDN'T get lost:p:B well not more than once:- ]

At the Get To Gether,
we had a Log Slabbing Demonstration....Very Interesting and GOOD:2tsup: