PDA

View Full Version : Making a steep concrete driveway non-slip

mcmahong
27th April 2008, 01:53 PM
Hi, I'm new to this so sorry if this has already been discussed.

Just looking for the best way to reduce the slipperiness of my driveway that has a reasonable slope on it. It is just bare concrete (not polished, but sort of rough) and does get a buildup of grime, dirt etc which I'm sure adds to the slip factor.

When it's wet it can be pretty slippery.

What's the best solution of reducing this? Just a clear anti-slip cloating, or maybe paving paint with a non-slip additive? What about prep work?

Any thoughts please?

cheers
Ged

bingoshelley
27th April 2008, 03:08 PM
hi what about that pebble stuff they put around pools probably a bit expensive not sure of the durability on a driveway.ive seen the painted driveways but with the traffic the paint tends to wear in places and looks ugly over time.maybe you could get away with a strip up the middle of that pebble stuff for walking on.just a thought.

Ivan in Oz
27th April 2008, 03:39 PM
I'm thinking -
a few washes with Spirit of salts [Hydrochloric Acid 10%]
It would roughen up the surface, [Expose any Aggregate]
and get rid of the Grime.

But be CAREFUL; wear PPE.... Gloves etc
HCl is Dangerous and Burns Flesh

Flush with plenty of Water or weak Water and Baking Soda Solution

Terrian
27th April 2008, 04:06 PM
Hi, I'm new to this so sorry if this has already been discussed.

Just looking for the best way to reduce the slipperiness of my driveway that has a reasonable slope on it. It is just bare concrete (not polished, but sort of rough) and does get a buildup of grime, dirt etc which I'm sure adds to the slip factor.

When it's wet it can be pretty slippery.

What's the best solution of reducing this? Just a clear anti-slip cloating, or maybe paving paint with a non-slip additive? What about prep work?

Any thoughts please?

cheers
Ged