PDA

View Full Version : Tinted builders bogg

deadwood
4th June 2008, 06:56 PM
Hi. This is my first time so be gentle ok.
Firstly may i say that this is a terrific site. It's great to know there are lots of people out there with the same affinity with wood as myself. That said, on to my topic. I have a nice piece of malley (never sure of spelling) on my lathe. It has the usual cracks, borers & knots you would expect. I am on my way home to try out some builders bogg tinted with acrylic artists paint. let me know how you think it will go (very interested in your advice but i want to do it now!). I'll take some pics when its done and we'll see.
I'll try and keep it short & sweet next time, sorry for blabbing on but as i said it's my first time. Looking forward to any and all responses.
cheers Mike.(deadwood). Doh!! my cover's blown.

Tony Morton
4th June 2008, 08:57 PM
Hi Mike

I have used builders bog for a number of years and I use brickies oxide to colour it, works for me.

Cheers Tony

blackhole
4th June 2008, 09:32 PM
Is builders bogg the same as car repair bogg?

deadwood
4th June 2008, 09:55 PM
No. Builders bog is more (like the name suggests) for building & construction materials like wood, brick & masonary; though it does say metal on the label. The bogg you fix cars with is like a fibreglass resin/epoxy. its almost the same colour though. Damn pigments in the hardener make it difficult to tint to anything other than a timber colour.

littlebuddha
4th June 2008, 10:36 PM
Bogg never heard of it but as pointed out about the car filler, then yes i use an isopon product which is a resin filler i go for the one with a metalic in it and use acrylic artist paint straight from the tube, the harder that comes with the fill is red sometimes yellow, and i have used all different colours added to it and have had no problems with colour or hardening. I like the added matalic rather than just a solid colour, although depends on the work to.:2tsup: Have fun..LB

deadwood